OW! Gender Equity Statement

At the EGM last month, the club passed a Gender Equity Statement. You can find it here: Gender Equity Statement

We think this is an important step in achieving gender equality in our club, as well as promoting it to others in ultimate and the wider sporting community.

We will hold ourselves accountable, and plan to review it and evaluate how well, as a club, we stuck to these aims and actions at the AGM next year.

2018-19 Committee and End of Year Awards

Following this year’s AGM (and an EGM for the remaining positions) we’re pleased to announce the OW! committee for 2018-19:

Matt Butler, President
En May Lim, Secretary
Andrew Bunting, Treasurer
James Famelton, Male Squad Captain
Phili Kent, Female Squad Captain
Sydney Vennin, Women’s Vice Captain
Dan Phillips, Men’s Vice Captain
Enzia Schnyder, Welfare Officer
Ben Moseley, Welfare Officer
Grace Manley, Stash Master
Jeff Sload, Male Social Secretary
Emer Chang, Female Social Secretary
Jonathan Grant-Peters, College Coordinator
Ian Roper, Outreach Officer

Congratulations to the following players receiving Half Blues:

Sarah-Jane Rodgers
Joyce Kwok
Christine Moore
Yan Han Goh
Phili Kent
Roisin Jackson
Enzia Schnyder
James Famelton
Ian Roper
Nicky Halterman
Russell Petry
Harry Mason
Dan Phillips
Jeff Sload

And the recipients of First Team Colours:

Nadine White
Carla Groenland
Luka Klimaviciute
Hamza Alawiye
Stephan Gaiser-Porter
Ben Moseley

As always, following the AGM we presented the end of year awards. Congratulations to the winners:

Ian Roper, Male Most Valuable Player & Best Sideline
Sarah-Jane Rodgers, Female MVP
Dan Phillips, Male Most Improved Player & Funniest Off-Pitch Moment
Nadine White, Female MIP
Harry Mason, Male Most Spirited Player & Offensive Player of the Year
Roisin Jackson, Female MSP
Hamza Alawiye, Defensive POTY
Russell Petry, Best Photo
Stephan Gaiser-Porter, Male Fresher of the Year
Phili Kent, Female FOTY
Matt Butler, Play of the Year & Funniest On-Pitch Moment
Christine Moore & Phili Kent, Best On-Pitch Connection
Dylan Salzman & Allegra Molkenthin, Jake Marrus Visiting Student Award for Best Chat, Best Bant, Best Frisbee and Biggest Lad

We’d like to say a massive well done to all our players for a fantastic year of ultimate! Thanks for all the hard work you’ve put into training, for persevering through the horrible winter weather and for producing the goods when it counted. The improvement over the whole year has been incredible. Best of luck to those who are leaving Oxford this summer, and for the rest of you: see you next year!

Metaswitch Sponsorship 2017-18

We’re extremely pleased to announce that Metaswitch are sponsoring Oxford University Ultimate for 2017-18. It’s an absolute pleasure to have their support and we hope to send more players than ever before to tournaments this year! Thank you!



Metaswitch is the world’s leading cloud based communications software company. Our award-winning solutions power more than 1,000 worldwide service provider networks.

We design and develop commercial and open-source software solutions. We package our software into products that are redefining consumer and business communications while transforming communication networks.


We are recruiting talented and motivated graduates, post graduates and Interns from any degree discipline to join us as Engineers.  You don’t need any experience – just have an interest in technology and be willing to take on big challenges!


You will have a great academic background (all A grades at A Level and a good degree in any subject), and be looking to build your career in a company full of really smart people who love solving problems and working together in a collaborative and innovative environment.


Read on!  Then, visit our website for further information about Metaswitch, the roles we have available and the people that work here.

You can also find us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and YouTube.

New Committee & End of Year Awards

Here is the committee for 2017-18:

Roisin Jackson, President
Matt Butler, Secretary
Joyce Kwok, Treasurer
Ian Roper, Male Squad Captain
Sarah-Jane Rodgers, Female Squad Captain
Fintan Owens, Stash Master
Nicky Halterman, Male Social Secretary
Kellie Harkin, Female Social Secretary
Tiger Hills, College Coordinator
Russell Petry, Outreach Officer
Enzia Schnyder, Women’s Development Officer

Congratulations to the following players receiving Half Blues:

Andrew Bunting
Arthur Wolstenholme
Ian Roper
Matt Butler
Nathan Wragg
Nicky Halterman
Russell Petry
Cathryn Klusmeier
Joyce Kwok
Lamia Ateshian
Nina Klein
Roisin Jackson

And the recipients of First Team Colours:

Hamza Alawiye
Josh Lanier
Wing Chung Liu

And the AGM would not be complete without the end of year awards so congratulations go to:

Jon Daly, Male Most Valuable Player
Joyce Kwok, Female MVP
Nicky Halterman, Male Most Improved Player
Lamia Ateshian, Female MIP
Russell Petry, Male Most Spirited Player
Nina Klein, Female MSP
Ian Roper, Offensive Player of the Year
Nathan Wragg, Defensive POTY and Funniest Off-Pitch Moment/Best Photo
Dan Phillips, Male Fresher of the Year
Tara Keenan, Female FOTY
Nathan Wragg & Harry Mason, Play of the Year (UMWON 2017)
Noémi Blome & Joyce Kwok, Best On-Pitch Connection
Noah Caplin, Funniest On-Pitch Moment(s)
Ariana Mapua, Best Sideline
Noémi Blome, Best Rehab

Well done to all our players for a phenomenal year of ultimate! Thank you for all the hard work you’ve put into training and for bringing the intensity that brought home the silverware at the end of a sensational season. Best of luck to those who have exams and those who are leaving Oxford this summer!

WFDF update to the Rules of Ultimate

The World Flying Disc Federation (WFDF) have released a new set of Rules of Ultimate and Rules Appendix. These came into effect on 1st January 2017 so have a read and make sure you’re up to date before you head onto the field!




OW! Calendar

Keep up to date with our training sessions, matches, and tournaments with the OW! calendar courtesy of Jon Daly. If you use gmail you can add it to your own calendar by clicking the “Add by URL” button.


Some dates next year you might be interested in:

  • Uni men’s indoor nationals: Feb 4/5
  • Uni women’s indoor nationals: Feb 11/12
  • Women’s outdoor regionals: Mar 11/12
  • Mixed outdoor nationals: Mar 25/26 (**NOTE – 10th week**)
  • Men’s/Women’s outdoor nationals: Apr 29/30